Give CBD a try we are happy to help you find what you need. Please chat with us online, by phone or email at support@greenwellnesslife.com
Give CBD a try we are happy to help you find what you need. Please chat with us online, by phone or email at support@greenwellnesslife.com

Is Hemp Gluten Free?

February 12th, 2021 by David Kranker

Gluten Free CBD Oil

Nearly 5 million Americans follow a gluten-free diet. Gluten, a protein found in certain grains (like wheat, rye, and barley), is linked to inflammation and digestive issues for people who suffer from celiac disease and gluten intolerance or sensitivity. Eliminating gluten can be a way to control gastrointestinal symptoms and (for those with celiac disease) avoid causing damage in their small intestine.

If you are interested in trying products made from the hemp plant – such as CBD oil – you may be curious about whether hemp is gluten free (GF). The good news is that hemp itself is gluten-free (GF). However, hemp can be grown in the same fields as grains that do contain gluten. If you are on a GF diet, you should be sure to only purchase products that are certified gluten free.

Green Wellness Life offers a full range of products made from hemp, including CBD oil capsules, topicals, and edibles. Many of our products are gluten free, making them a safe choice for anyone who wants to explore hemp and/or CBD while maintaining a gluten free diet.

What Is Hemp?

Hemp is a type of cannabis, a flowering plant in the Cannabaceae family. It is very similar to the marijuana plant, with one key difference: the level of tetrahydrocannabinol (THC). THC is the psychoactive component in marijuana that makes you feel high or stoned.

Under U.S. law, to be considered hemp, a cannabis plant must contain no more than 0.3% THC. Hemp that has 0.3% or less THC content by dry weight can be legally grown and sold in the United States. By contrast, the THC content of marijuana is often 30% or greater.

Hemp has a number of uses. It can be turned into a number of products, including paper, textiles, animal feed, plastic, and clothing. It can also be used to make food products, such as hemp seeds, hemp protein powder, hemp milk, and hemp oil.

There are a number of nutritional benefits associated with hemp seed, which is considered a complete protein that is high in fiber. The stalks, leaves and flowers of hemp also contain compounds known as cannabinoids, including cannabidiol (CBD). When CBD is extracted from hemp, it can be made into CBD oil and various other products.

Is Hemp GF?

The hemp plant itself does not contain any gluten. However, hemp is often grown in rotation with other crops that contain gluten, such as wheat. Crop rotation is a practice used by farmers to return nutrients to the soil and increase soil health.

Because farmers rotate hemp with grains, they often use the same equipment to harvest, store, and transport these crops. This raises the possibility of cross-contamination. While hemp is GF, there is a chance that some hemp could be above the legal limit of 20 parts per million of gluten.

If you are interested in products made from hemp, the best way to avoid gluten cross contamination is to seek out products that are gluten free. Manufacturers can only use this description on their packaging or in their advertising if their product has less than 20 ppm of gluten.

Should I Take a Hemp Product If I Am on a Gluten Free Diet?

There are many potential benefits associated with hemp and products derived from the hemp plant (such as CBD oil). Hemp itself is a great source of fiber, magnesium, and essential fatty acids. As noted above, early research shows that CBD may reduce the symptoms of certain conditions – including digestive issues that often lead people to adopt a gluten free diet.

Before adding any supplement to your diet, you should always consult with your doctor. They will be able to advise you on potential interactions, proper serving sizes, and whether the supplement may help your specific condition.

If you do decide to try a hemp product, be sure to only purchase items that are certified gluten free. For CBD oils and other products, look for a “GF” designation on the label. In particular, be sure that the carrier oil used for a CBD tincture is gluten free and that a CBD capsule is not made with wheat starch.

You should also seek out CBD products that are made from industrial hemp grown in the United States, and that have been independently tested for quality. This can help to assure you that you are getting what you pay for – and nothing else.

Green Wellness Life offers an array of gluten free CBD products, including:

We also offer highly nutritious, GF hemp products, such as Patsy’s hemp hearts.

Buy Gluten Free Hemp Products Online

There are a lot of great reasons to add hemp to your diet, whether you chose to sprinkle hemp hearts on your salad, use hemp oil for cooking, or take CBD as a supplement. If you are following a gluten free diet, you can still take advantage of the benefits of hemp by looking for a product that is labeled GF.

At Green Wellness Life, we aren’t doctors and cannot diagnose or treat any condition. However, we can offer you the latest research into the benefits of CBD and hemp, and help you choose a product that is right for you. To learn more, press the live chat button, call us at (888) 772-7875 (Monday to Friday, 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. EST), or fill out our online contact form.

Sources:

About David Kranker

David KrankerDavid Kranker is the digital marketing manager at Green Wellness Life. David is passionate about CBD and making well-sourced CBD information/research accessible to all. David likes to keep his finger on the pulse of the CBD industry to report the latest studies, statistics, and findings from the community.


  • Latest News

    Broad Spectrum CBD Product Reviews

    Read More
    Hemp Laws on the Horizon Blog Graphic

    Hemp Laws on the Horizon

    Read More

    CBD Benefits For Pets

    Read More
    Gluten Free CBD Oil

    Is Hemp Gluten Free?

    Read More